Question #11
Aug. 27th, 2012 07:47 amThis is in answer to the
#11) Your kids or your feelings about having kids
I don’t have any kids.
For many years my wife and I tried to have them. We, mostly she, went
through a bunch of tests. They all said that nothing was wrong and we
should be able to have kids. For a while the doctor prescribed some, very
expensive, pills to try and help things along.
It didn’t work.
Finally, after more than 5 years of that, we gave up.
Then, she got pregnant. As she had just had her wisdom teeth out, and it
hadn’t gone well, we had attributed the early signs to that and nothing
more.
But, it was more and it didn’t go well.
That event caused us a lot of problems. And, from everything I’ve read
there was no way for anyone to predict or prevent it, or any way to fix it
once it happened.
I’m hoping, almost 10 years later, that we’re finally clear of the
repercussions and can get on with our lives.
I can’t deny I had wanted kids. And, it is sad that we will never have
them.
But, that’s the way things happened and there are plenty of other ways to
interact with the world.
One of my roommates in college has two wonderful kids that are our
godchildren. So, we live vicariously through them.
no subject
Date: 2012-08-27 07:17 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-08-27 08:40 pm (UTC)I'm very much in the other camp, having absolutely no desire to have children at all. Mostly out of not wanting to inflict some of the things that have happened to me, and partly out of being terrified of the responsibility. The issue of being terminally single compounds the first two reasons.
My godchildren and neice / nephew are fun though. I can spoil them rotten.
no subject
Date: 2012-08-27 08:57 pm (UTC)And, the spoil the godkids rotten is always fun.